Promises

I posted on my Facebook account some amazing news last month… September 4th, 2016 at 9:36 pm my sweet baby asked Jesus to come into her heart.

Whew! I cannot even begin to describe my emotions to you!  I had prayed and longed for this moment from the time I found out I was pregnant with her.  That God would lead, guide and direct my paths, and hers.

Last week when she was spending the night with my parents, she told my parents “Every night when Ma-Ma gets to me sleep, she has Bible study with me or sings me one of those ‘Ol Baptist Songs.”  When my mom told me she said Shelby wasn’t complaining about it. I said, “Well, that makes my heart happy, I must be doing something right.”

I love, and I mean LOVE having Bible study with her, she asks questions and is so intrigued by the people we are reading about, and remembers almost everything we study about.  Her favorite stories from the Bible so far are:

  1. Gideon and the wet and dry fleece
  2. Ruth & Naomi
  3. Sampson
  4. Joseph & The Twelve Tribes of Israel

Which brings me to my inspiration for this post thanks to Daily Prompt: Promises.  As some of you are aware of, we lost my Grandfather this month last year.  It’s hard to believe that he’s almost been gone a year.  There is not a day that goes by that I don’t miss him or think about him.  I even have a picture of him on my desk at work, so that I can see his smile (and remember) his laugh. Because when he smiled, he was always laughing. The kind of laugh that makes you smile yourself.

Last night as we were getting ready for bed, my sweet baby starting tearing up about missing her Pa-Pa. He would do anything for his girls, and he was always reading to my sweet baby.  Whatever she wanted him to read he would – he was an avid reader himself.

Today a customer came into work, and his last name was my grandfathers middle name. Doyle… not a name you hear very often.  I told him just hearing that name made me smile, and I thanked him for making me smile today.  When he left he said, “Goodbye Mrs. Doyle.”

No that’s not my last name, but I know that God promises us that he has angels watching over us.

Psalms 91:11 says, For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways.”

I’m not saying that this man was an angel. But the Bible also says in Hebrews 13:2

Hebrews 13:2 “Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.”

But I know that every word of God’s is a promise to us.  And he never breaks a promise – EVER! What an awesome and mighty God we serve.

1 Kings 8:56 – Blessed [be] the LORD, that hath given rest unto his people Israel, according to all that he promised: there hath not failed one word of all his good promise, which he promised by the hand of Moses his servant.

I truly believe that now I have one of the most wonderful Guardian Angels watching over my little family.  I don’t think for an instance that it was just a “coincidence” that Mr. Doyle dropped by our office.  I believe with all my heart, that it was just a reminder from my Lord and Savior, that everything will be alright.

I hope this finds you doing well, and please keep my little family in your prayers. In just a couple of days it will be a year since our sweet grandfather left this walk of life to be with his Lord and Savior up in Heaven.  His life up there is only beginning, and we are left here missing him, but knowing that with God’s promises we will see him again one day.

Leave a comment