Happy Birthday In Heaven: A Tribute To Sherrie Kelley

Yesterday would have been the 50th birthday to a dear sweet woman of God.  She left this world way to early.  She left behind a loving husband, son and daughter-in-law with 2 beautiful little girls along with many other loved ones.

This loving couple went to a church that my daughter and I used to go to when she was younger.  We hadn’t been back to visit for a while.  One Sunday we dropped in for a visit, my husband had not been to this church, and he was happy to have us all visit together. We sat in the back, and was just enjoying ourselves.

Little did I know, that this sweet lady had just been discharged from the hospital the night before, and she was dedicated and determined to make it to church the next day. They sat in the row in front of us. It was so good seeing them again.

After church was over, we sat and talked for a couple of minutes.  They told me that they wished I had sang today, that they really would have enjoyed it.  They said that the next time I come and visit with them to please sing for them.  I said that I would.  They touched my heart, and gave me one of the sweetest compliments I think I could have ever received.  They told me that when the first heard me sing all those years ago, that they thought I sang like an angel.  I told them that we didn’t have to wait until next time, that I would sing anything they wanted me to sing right then.  

I started singing, and got choked up with tears, thinking about how much pain she had to be going through.  He took my hand and they told me it’s okay.  I apologized and I started again. After if finished I wanted to hug them both, but knowing she was going through chemo I knew I couldn’t, because her immune system was low. Her sweet husband came and gave me a hug, and I told him I wasn’t sure if I could hug him either because of the circumstances. He explained that it was okay.  That’s when this sweet dear woman of God gave me a hug and said, I’ll hug you too, you’re special. 

On the way home I thought of this sweet couple and prayed for them.  She had been battling cancer for a couple of years, and she still always had a smile on her face. She was truly an inspiration. 

I got a message some days later from a friend of mine explaining that our sweet friend was facing more challenges and that hospice was being called in. My heart broke for them. I told my husband that I was so thankful we stayed that day after church so I could to sing to them.  

I got in contact with this sweet woman’s mother-in-law and asked if it would be okay for me to come and sing to her at the hospital.  She messaged me later and said that would be fine.  I met her there and I said I would sing to her till she got tired of me. I told them I didn’t know what else I could do, and that I just wanted to share with them my gift that God had blessed me with. How we all have a talent chosen from God, and that I just wanted to do what I could for them.  I sang and we talked about how good God is, and she told me, “I know where I’m going, and if he calls me today, I’m ready.”  She was truly a woman of faith, and I told her one of the talents God gave her was the gift of joy, how she could make anyone smile just being around her. 

When I stopped singing for a minute, she told me, “When I leave here, I want you to sing for me.” I knew exactly what she was asking. She was asking me to sing at her funeral. I told her of course I would that I would be honored.  As I left that day, I cried the whole way home. She had picked out the songs she wanted that day, and the songs she picked were truly perfect for her and for the journey she had been through.  

  1. Brand New Touch
  2. Oh What A Savior
  3. If You Could See Me Now

She left this walk of life on September 30, 2016, but she began her new life in Heaven that same moment. 

This post is dedicated to Sherrie Kelley, who left this world so soon, but left a testimony of faith and love for all around her. And to her husband Toby Kelley who was always by her side, and to her son Bill White and his family.  

I would also like to dedicate this post to anyone who has lost someone to this awful disease. It’s Cancer Awareness month, please be in prayer for all who have lost someone to Cancer and their families, as well to those who have survived Cancer, and those who are currently fighting Cancer. 

God Bless! 

Happy Birthday in Heaven Sherrie Annette (Tubby) White Kelley. 

​The video I made for her family has been shared with them and I have also uploaded it to YouTube as A Tribute To Sherrie Kelley

Leave a Reply

